Back to destinations
London skyline with the Shard, Thames and Tower Bridge
Back to home
STUDY IN EUROPE
United Kingdom flag Undergraduate & postgraduate study

Study in United Kingdom

Focused degrees, research-led teaching and student cities with a character of their own.

Undergraduate tuition £11,400–£38,000 Typical international tuition / year · GBP
Typical fee range Published national guide; fee year not stated
Postgraduate tuition £9,000–£30,000 Typical international tuition / year · GBP
Typical fee range Published national guide; fee year not stated
Living budget / month £900–£1,400 Reference budget · see conditions below

Why students choose UK

Many taught master’s courses take one year, which can reduce the time spent away from work. Check the length of your exact course.

You can explore very different campus settings: a London institution, a historic collegiate university or a city university in the north.

Course choice runs from engineering and computing to creative industries, law and public health.

Explore strengths in Business Technology Engineering Design

Universities & courses

Undergraduate courses

  • Business & management
  • Computer science
  • Mechanical engineering
  • Law
  • Design & media
  • Biomedical science

Postgraduate courses

  • Data science
  • Finance
  • Engineering management
  • Public health
  • International business
  • Creative industries

Universities & institutions

QS World University Rankings 2027 · Overall

Imperial College London

QS 2027 · =2 overall

University of Oxford

QS 2027 · 4 overall

University of Manchester

QS 2027 · =40 overall

Intakes & start dates

When can you start?

September/October is the main start. January and occasional spring starts exist for selected courses; many competitive degrees have only one intake.

Start dates vary by programme.

Tuition & living costs

Undergraduate tuition · GBP £11,400–£38,000 Typical international tuition / year
Typical fee range Published national guide; fee year not stated
Postgraduate tuition · GBP £9,000–£30,000 Typical international tuition / year
Typical fee range Published national guide; fee year not stated
What these tuition figures coverCountry-level international fee ranges, rather than a measured national average. The current published guide does not label a 2026/27 fee year. Clinical subjects and specialist programmes can cost more.
Typical living reference / month · GBP £900–£1,400 Housing and daily expenses depend on the city and your choices.

The national guide suggests GBP 900–1,300 monthly outside London and GBP 1,300–1,400 in London. Housing choices can raise this. These planning bands are not a 2026 rent survey. Student-visa evidence is separate: GBP 1,529/month in London or GBP 1,171 outside London, for up to nine months under the current rule.

Part-time work & careers

Usually 20 hours / week in term

For eligible full-time degree-level students at a sponsor with the required compliance record: up to 20 hours weekly in term and full-time outside term. Some courses allow 10 hours or no work. Your visa conditions control the permission.

After your degree

Graduate visa: applications on or before 31 December 2026 receive two years; applications from 1 January 2027 receive 18 months. Doctoral graduates receive three years. Eligibility and application requirements still apply.

Career fields to investigate

Software & data Engineering Financial services Creative industries Life sciences

Notable student cities

London

A broad choice of institutions and employers, with a housing budget to match.

Manchester

A large university community alongside technology, media and business employers.

Edinburgh

Research, finance and a compact city centre with a busy cultural calendar.